Condensed Matter Physics

The Condensed Matter Physics (CMP) group focuses on theoretical, computation and experimental study of many fundamental physical phenomena, with a strong emphasis in the fields of nanomagnetism, nanotransport, nanocayalysis, energy related materials, surface science, vibrational dynamics at the nanoscale, biophysics, superconductivity and semiconductors physics. These investigations will eventually lead to exciting novel applications in current technologies, e. g. catalysIS, renewable energies, optoelectronics, medicine, homeland security, as well as potential applications in emerging technologies, e. g. quantum information and computation, coherent terahertz radiation, nanoelectronics or spintronics and high sensitivity UV detection.

The fundamental research performed by more than twenty CMP faculty members in the Physics Department and their associates (~60 students, from K-12 to graduate, and postdoctoral associates) is supported by state-of-the-art computational and experimental facilities available at UCF, including the Materials Characterization Facility (MCF). CMP members are also active users of national and international facilities such as the NSF Teragrid, the Advanced Photon Source at the Argonne National Laboratory, the National Synchrotron Light Source at Brookhaven National Laboratory and the Japanese Synchrotron Facility. The work of most of the CMP faculty members is funded from grants from the US Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Aniket Bhattacharya

Dr. Bo Chen

Dr. Leonid Chernyak

Dr. Lee Chow

Dr. Enrique del Barco

Dr. Archana Dubey

Dr. Elena Flitsiyan

Dr. Masahiro Ishigami

Dr. Abdelkader Kara

Dr. Saiful Khondaker

Dr. Richard Klemm

Dr. Michael Leuenberger

Dr. Weili Luo

Dr. Eduardo Mucciolo

Dr. Talat Rahman

Dr. Patrick Schelling

Dr. Alfons Schulte

Dr. Sergey Stolbov