Experimental modelling of (photo-)catalysts for challenges in the energy transition: From dilute Pd alloys to Titanium oxides and sulfides

Dr. Lars Mohrhusen

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, D-26129 Oldenburg, Germany Contact: <u>lars.mohrhusen@uol.de</u> Web: <u>https://uol.de/nwg-mohrhusen</u>

To overcome some of the current challenges especially in the energy transition, heterogeneous (photo)catalysis is a key technology. However, for many relevant processes, we are still lacking the optimal catalyst materials, that are cheap and available, long-term, stable and nontoxic, but very reactive and ideally selective.

In my research, the target is to develop such materials based on rational material design, also called "surface-science approach": To overcome experimental limitations under technical conditions (such as high pressures and temperatures, complex and heterogeneous multidimensional structure, dynamic catalysts, ...), we investigate model systems by using well-defined (single crystal) samples under ultrahigh vacuum (< 10⁻⁹ mbar) or so-called *operando* conditions (usually few mbars). Combining insights from spectroscopy, microscopy and reactivity studies can gain a comprehensive picture on the atomic level.

In this lecture, I will briefly introduce this research concept and present few examples based on three relevant materials in view of the current energy challenges, namely a) multimetallic alloy catalysts for selective hydrogenations,^{1,2} b) sulfide-based catalysts for hydrotreatments of oxygen- and nitrogenrich biooils³ and c) Ti-based hybrid systems for photocatalytic reactions.^{4,5}

Literature:

- [1] L. Mohrhusen, T. Egle, J.D. Lee, C. M. Friend, R. J. Madix, *J. Phys. Chem. C* **2022**, 126, 48, 20332–20342.
- [2] L. Mohrhusen, S. Zhang, M. M. Montemore, R. J. Madix, *Small* **2024**, 2405715.
- [3] M. Hedevang, L. Mohrhusen, F. Hallböök, D, Gajdek, L. Merte, S. Blomberg, J.V. Lauritsen, to be submitted.
- [4] L. Mohrhusen, K. Al-Shamery, *Catal. Lett.* **2023**, 153, 2, 321-337.
- [5] N. Kruse, K. Hazeldine, D. Le, M. Hedevang, T. Rahman, J. V. Lauritsen, L. Mohrhusen, to be submitted.

