Lou Frey Institute Wins Professional Organizational Awards

Over the weekend of Oct. 19-21, the Florida Council for the Social Studies, an organization that represents the field of social studies education in Florida, held its annual conference and awards dinner. The Lou Frey Institute, part of the Political Science Department within the College of Sciences, sponsored Dr. Tina Heafner of UNC-Charlotte, a leading scholar on social studies and civic education, as the keynote speaker. Her speech, “Is Social Studies Education a Constitutional Right?” was well-received and aligned well with the civic education, advocacy, and research mission of the Institute.

During the awards dinner, fellows and staff from the Institute’s Florida Joint Center for Citizenship demonstrated why the Institute, the College of Sciences, and the University of Central Florida continue to grow in reputation and influence. The following winners of professional organizational awards were announced:

The Agnes Crabtree International Relations Award
Dr. Scott Waring of UCF’s College of Community Innovation and Education and a Fellow of the Florida Joint Center for Citizenship at the Lou Frey Institute  

Dr. J. Doyle Casteel Outstanding Leadership Award
Mr. Christopher Spinale, FJCC Action Civics Coordinator

Dr. B.J. Allen Social Science Professional Award
Ms. Peggy Renihan, FJCC Professional Development Coordinator

J.R. Skretting Leadership Award
Dr. Stephen Masyada, FJCC Director

These awards represent years of hard work and dedication to the profession, to leadership, and to making a difference in the lives of teachers, students, and other stakeholders in social studies and civic education.

Comments are closed.