UCF Department of Mathematics

Spring 2018

 

Spring 2018

Until March 17, each session consists of two parts. In the first part of each session (2:00 pm – 3:30 pm), the instructor will lead the exploration of the intriguing topics of mathematics. In the second part of each session (3:30 pm – 4:30 pm), students will be engaged in problem-solving activities which will sharpen their understanding of the curriculum related topics.

After March 17 until April 21, we will continue only with problem-solving activities. The session will start at 2:00 pm and will continue until 3:30 pm.

Spring Semester 2018 Dates

Sessions are independent of each other. Each session doesn’t require any knowledge from the previous sessions.

Date February 3 (Sat), February 10 (Sat), February 17 (Sat), February 24 (Sat), March 3 (Sat),   March 10 (Sat), March 17 (Sat)
– Mathematical Exploration: 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
– Problem Solving: 3:30 pm – 4:30 pmMarch 24 (Sat), March 31 (Sat), April 7 (Sat), April 14 (Sat), April 21 (Sat)
– Problem Solving: 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
Location The room 318 of the Mathematical Sciences Building on the UCF campus

List of Mathematical Exploration Topics

Session Date Speaker Title
1 February 3 Dr. Xin Li Why are you scared of the square root of 2?
2 February 10 Dr. Sona Swanson  Rubik’s Cube
3 February 17 Dr. Michael Reid Nim Game
4 February 24 Dr. Barry Griffiths Congruences and Cryptography
5 March 3 Dr. Joseph Brennan Symmetries
6 March 10 Dr. Ram Mohapatra Magic of Numbers and Fibonacci Sequence
7 March 17 Dr. Zhisheng Shuai Mathematics of Infectious Diseases

Some Worksheets from the grade 6 problem-solving sessions

PEDMAS(Order of Operations) by Ms. Reed, Solving linear equations by Dr. Shuai, Percents by Dr. Kwon

Photo Gallery