COS Distinguished Alumni Award Winners 2018

Ten College of Sciences alumni were recognized Thursday for their career achievements at the 2018-19 Distinguished Alumni Awards.

“Tonight’s awardees were selected based on their professional achievement, exceptional community service and reflection of the college’s mission to expand knowledge in the sciences, mathematical sciences, and communications,” COS Dean Michael Johnson, Ph.D., told the audience gathered at the Morgridge International Reading Center.

Awardees represented each of the COS departments and a broad spectrum of graduation dates, career milestones and professional achievements. In accepting their awards, awardees thanked friends and family who joined them for the ceremony and attributed their success to hard work, taking chances and the UCF professors and classes who spurred them on to greatness.

The awardees are:

Brian Smith ’03
Director of Management and Administration for Naval Reactors at the National Nuclear Security Administration

Diane Mahoney ’96 ’01MEd ’14Eds
CEO at Kavaliro

Darlene Slattery ’86 ’89MS
Retired researcher at Florida Solar Energy Systems

Nicholson School of Communication & Media
Gloria LeQuang ’97
Director of Marketing and Community Relations at BRIDG

Ted Rassmann ’82
Retired Vice President, Account Executive at IBM

Michael LoMurro ’89
President of Certified Payments

Political Science
J. Christopher Lombardo ’80
Managing Partner at Woodward, Pires & Lombardo, P.A.

John Mattone ’80 MS
President and CEO at John Mattone Global, Inc.

Kathleen Black ’84 ’01 ’02MS
Chief Nursing Officer at Dr. P. Phillips Hospital

Lesley Cheema ’97 ’99MS
Yield Improvement Engineer for Defect Meteology at Qorvo, Inc.

Comments are closed.