Graduate Student Research Awards

The Graduate Research Forum, held annually at UCF, is an opportunity for students to showcase their research and creative projects and to receive valuable feedback from faculty judges.

The 2015 forum was held on March 31 and featured poster displays representing UCF’s diverse colleges and disciplines. Awards for best poster in each category were given and all participants received recognition.

The College of Sciences had six graduate students placed for their research:

Social Sciences Category:
First place was awarded to Zorina Manoni, Anthropology M.A., Osteoarthritis in the Andes: Prevalence and Patterning of Disease among Pre-Columbian Agro-Pastoralists from Kuelap
Mentor/Co-Author: Marla Toyne, Ph.D., (Department of Anthropology)

Graduate Research Forum Zorina Manoni

Second place was awarded to Eric Paz, Anthropology M.A., Do Subfloor Caches at Altun Ha Represent Quadripartite Partitioning or a Changing Late Classic Maa Comology?
Mentor:  Arlen Chase, Ph.D., (Department of Anthropology)

Graduate Research Forum Eric Paz resized

Honorable Mention was awarded to Natalie Yrisarry, Communication M.A., Managing Face and Politeness in Instructor Responses to Classroom Incivility Behaviors
Mentors: Ann Miller, Ph.D.; Lindsay Neuberger, Ph.D., (Nicholson School of Communication)

Mathematics, Optics and Physical Sciences Category:
Second place was awarded to Ryuichi Tsuchikawa, Physics Ph.D., Measurement of Resistance Induced by a Single Atom on Carbon Nanotubes
Mentor: Eduardo Mucciolo, Ph.D., (Department of Physics); Co-Authors: Daniel Heligman, Amin Ahmadi, Eduardo Mucciolo, PhD; Masahiro Ishigami, PhD; Zhengyi Zhang, Columbia University; James Hone, Columbia University

Honorable mention was awarded to Daniel Franklin, Physics Ph.D., Color Tunable Metasurfaces for Reflective Displays
Mentor: Debashis Chanda, Ph.D.,; Co-Authors: Yuan Chen; Shin-Tson Wu;Debashis Chanda, PhD

Honorable mention was also awarded to Javaneh Boroumand, Physics Ph.D., Efficiency Enhancement in Thin-Film Solar Cells
Mentor: Debashis Chanda, Ph.D.

For a complete list of all the winners click here.





Comments are closed.