COS Excellence in Academics

Graduate Research Forum

The UCF College of Graduate Studies recognized graduate students and faculty for excellence in research, teaching and mentoring at an awards ceremony during the 13th Annual Graduate Research Forum on April 5, 2016.

Each year the Graduate Council Program Review and Awards Committee reviews college nominations and recognizes graduate students for the University Graduate Awards of Excellence. The committee also recognizes faculty that excel in mentoring doctoral students. The nominations are very competitive and the selection is especially challenging.

Below are the winners for the College of Sciences:

Sara Ann Sacra – Award for Excellence by a Graduate Teaching Assistant in the College of Sciences

Kaylin A. Ratner – Award for Outstanding Master’s Thesis in the College of Sciences

Benjamin D. Sawyer, Ph.D. –  Award for Outstanding Dissertation in the College of Sciences

Arielle Gaudiello was the overall winner for the Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching, awarded to only one recipient throughout the entire university.

Two UCF faculty members are selected each year that show great dedication and guidance in the mentorship of doctoral students for the Award for Faculty Excellence in Mentoring Doctoral Students.

This year, Physics professor Robert Peale, Ph.D., was one of the two faculty members recognized for their excellence in mentoring doctoral students.

The following COS faculty were also nominated for the Faculty Excellence in Mentoring award by their graduated doctoral students.

Engineering, Physical Sciences and Life Sciences Nominees:
Florencio Hernandez, Ph.D.  (Department of Chemistry)
Dmitry Kolpashchikov, Ph.D.  (Department of Chemistry)
Robert Peale, Ph.D. (Department of Physics)
Talat Rahman, Ph.D.  (Department of Physics)

Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Business, Fine Arts and Health Sciences Nominees:
David Gay, Ph.D. (Department of Sociology)
Peter Hancock, Ph.D (Department of Psychology)
James Szalma, Ph.D. (Department of Psychology)
James Wright, Ph.D. (Department of Sociology)

Comments are closed.