Two Professors Honored as Fellows of the American Physical Society

Two UCF Department of Physics professors have been selected as Fellows of the American Physical Society.

Election to the Fellowship in the APS is limited to no more than one-half of one percent of the membership. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.


Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers.

Enrique Del Barco, Ph.D., Associate Chair for the Department of Physics and Interim Associate Dean for the College of Sciences, was nominated by the Topical Group on Magnetism. His fellowship citation states, “For seminal and sustained contributions to the understanding of quantum phenomena in low dimensional magnetic materials, primarily through experimental studies of quantum tunneling in molecular magnets.”



Eduardo Mucciolo, Ph.D., Chair for the Department of Physics was also selected. He was nominated by the Division of Condensed Matter Physics. His fellowship citation states, “For sustained contributions to understanding electronic transport in low-dimensional systems, including spin-pumping in quantum dots, disorder effects in graphene and Kondo systems, Berry phase in single-molecule magnets, and correlated noise attacks on quantum error correction.”

“Congratulations on being selected as Fellows of the American Physical Society,” Dean of the College of Sciences, Michael Johnson said. “This is a great honor.”

Each nomination is evaluated by the Fellowship committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum, or by the APS General Fellowship committee. After review by the full APS Fellowship Committee, the successful candidates are elected by APS Council. Learn more.

Comments are closed.