UCF Society of Physics Students Awarded the 2019-2020 Outstanding Chapter



UCF’s Society of Physics Students (SPS) Chapter has received the 2019-2020 Outstanding Chapter — the highest possible distinction.

The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach, as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS: “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

“SPS has played a formative role in my undergraduate experience, and I am excited to be able to work with my fellow undergraduates to continue fulfilling the missions of SPS,” said Chapter President Riley Havel.

The chapter also received the 2019-2020 Blake Lilly Prize for their outreach activities promoting physics education.

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. SPS Faculty advisors, Associate Professor Costas Efthimiou, Ph.D., and Assistant Professor Adrienne Dove, Ph.D., are working with the chapter.

This award is the highest level of distinction given to a chapter by the Society.

Comments are closed.