Excellence in Online Teaching Award

alisha janowsky online teching award

Thomas Cavanagh (left) congratulates the 2016 Chuck D. Dziuban Award winner, Alisha Janowsky (right), Department of Psychology.

Assistant Chair & Director of the Undergraduate Psychology Program, Alisha Janowsky, Ph.D, was recently honored with the 5th annual Chuck Dzuiban Award for Excellence in Online Teaching.

On behalf of the Center for Distributed Learning, this award recognizes one outstanding UCF faculty member who has taught at least one blended or fully online course within the previous academic year. The award is named after Chuck Dziuban, the Director of the Research Initiative for Teaching Effectiveness at UCF (RITE) and an internationally acclaimed leader in online learning.

The award presentation took place during a showcase event that concluded the spring section of CDL’s faculty development program for online and blended teaching, IDL6543, on Friday, April 15.

While at the showcase, Dr. Janowsky shared a few words of inspiration with the current IDL6543 participants as they are now embarking on their own online teaching careers.

“Online learning offers students a lot of flexibility and the opportunity to individualize their learning. It offers unique opportunities for faculty and students to get to know each other…They also offer students the opportunity to move through content at their own pace and complete their work when it is convenient for them to do so” explained Dr. Janowsky. “As long as both the students in these courses and faculty teaching these courses have similar objectives and drives to succeed, the online experience can be extremely meaningful.”

Dr. Janowsky’s award recognition includes an iPad tablet and paid registration to attend the 21st Annual Online Learning Accelerate Conference in Orlando on November 16-18, 2016.

Dr. Janowsky would like to thank “…instructional designer Sue Bauer and the entire team at CDL, Chuck Dzuiban and Patsy Moskal at RITE and my Chair, Dr. Jeffrey Cassisi, and Dean, Dr. Michael Johnson, for all their support.” She would also like to thank “[t]he wonderful folks at FCTL and WAC for their support and helpful insights into teaching, as well as all the amazing faculty in the Psychology Department.”

Just recently, she also received the Teaching Incentive Program Award. This award is given to faculty who has sustained high levels of teaching effectiveness for at least 4 years.

We would like to congratulate Dr. Janowsky on her hard work and achievements.

Comments are closed.