Incentive Awards in Teaching, Research & Scholarship Go To………….

The College of Sciences is elated to announce the 2013-2014 winners for the Teaching Incentive Program, Research Incentive Award, and Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. As Dean Michael Johnson said, “this is a very accomplished group.”

Each year, UCF’s Academic Affairs’ Office of Faculty Excellence gives incentive awards to outstanding faculty for their dedication to teaching, research and scholarship. Every award winner, whether holding a nine or 12 month contract, is given a $5,000 increase to their base salary retroactive to August 8, 2013, the beginning of the 2013-2014 school year. Faculty are eligible to win these awards once every five years.

Teaching Incentive Program (TIP) Winners for the College of Sciences 2013-2014

The university’s Teaching Incentive Program (TIP) rewards sustained high levels of teaching effectiveness. The university awards as many as 40 new TIPs to the colleges each year. The number of TIP awards available in a college is based on the total number of eligible faculty in any given year.

Amanda Groff, Anthropology

Will Crampton, Biology

Kenneth Fedorka, Biology

Stephen Kuebler, Chemistry

Shengli Zou, Chemistry

Maria Capursi, Mathematics

Brian Moore, Mathematics

Zi-Xia Song, Mathematics

Humberto Campins, Physics

Valerie Sims, Psychology

Jana Jasinski, Sociology

Fernando Rivera, Sociology


Research Incentive Award (RIA) Winners for the College of Sciences 2013-2014

The university’s Research Incentive Awards (RIA) reward outstanding achievements in research, scholarly and creative activities.  The successful nominee must have an outstanding research, scholarly or creative record that advances the body of knowledge in their field.

John Schultz, Anthropology

Dmitry Kolpashchikov, Chemistry

Deguang Han, Mathematics

Clint Bowers, Psychology

Mark Johnson, Statistics

Jana Jasinski, Sociology


Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Winners for the College of Sciences 2013-2014

The university’s Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (UCF-SoTL) awards are coordinated by the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning (FCTL) and reward outstanding achievements in research and other scholarly and creative activities that focus on the effectiveness of teaching methods. Awardees from this program may also receive university support to attend and present papers at the International Conference on Teaching and Learning or other Teaching and Learning conferences.

Amanda Groff, Anthropology

Bruce Wilson, Political Science


For more information on the incentive awards, selection process, and eligibility visit the Academic Affairs’ Office of Faculty Relations’ website.

Comments are closed.