Order of Pegasus Class of 2016

Order of the pegasus - 2016

20 students have received the Order of Pegasus, UCF’s most prominent student award and six out of those 20 students representing the College of Sciences.

The Order of Pegasus recognizes exemplary performance by undergraduate and graduate students in the areas of academic achievement, outstanding university involvement, leadership and community service. Because of the breadth of accomplishments required for this award, the Order of Pegasus is the most prestigious and significant student award that can be attained at UCF.

To be considered as a candidate, students must be nominated by individuals who broadly represent the university community.


Below are this year’s COS inductees:

Julie Deslauriers - Order of the pegasus pic

Julie Deslauriers Major: Biology/Minor: Business Administration; Certificate in leadership studies

“The University of Central Florida has inspired me to embrace my personal growth, challenge my leadership skills, and ignite my professional development. I am very honored to be inducted into the Order of Pegasus and to represent the organizations that have changed my life.”



Amy Maitner - order of the pegasus headshot

Amy Maitner Major: Advertising and Public Relations/Minor: Women’s and Gender Studies

“I am so grateful to have been selected as a recipient of the 2016 Order of Pegasus, and I am honored to represent the organizations and individuals who have supported me throughout my UCF experience. The invaluable education I have gained from UCF, both in and out of the classroom, has prepared me for my journey after college and empowered my passion for social change.”


Alex C- Order of the Pegasus RESIZEDAlex Carciente Moreno – Major: Political Science (International Relations)/Minor: Emergency Management and Homeland Security

“I am beyond honored and privileged to be inducted into the Order of Pegasus Class of 2016. UCF has been my home for the past four years; it has given me the skills, and values necessary to succeed upon graduation. To future freshmen… you are now part of a privileged group, the UCF Knights, so take advantage of it, because UCF really does stand for opportunity.”



Melissa Westbrook ’14 (Political Science alumna)  College of Health and Public Affairs

“I am so grateful to receive this award. It is a blessing to be able to even receive an education and I’m so lucky that it is here! UCF has provided me with so many amazing opportunities.”



Gabriela Wolk - Order of the PegasusGabriela Wolk – Major: Political Science & English Literature/Minor: Russian Studies

“I feel incredibly honored to have been considered among so many other students at UCF for the Order of Pegasus. It has been a privilege to study alongside my peers and under the invaluable mentorship of faculty within the Political Science department. The lessons I have learned throughout this process will greatly assist me as I transition into law school to study international law.”


Caitlyn Zona - order of the pegasus pic

Caitlyn Zona – Major: Political Science

“I am humbled to have received this University honor. My academic experience has guided me to be surer of my career path and has inspired me to truly reach for the stars. UCF has given me a well-rounded experience that has shaped me into a person that I am proud to be today and for that I will always be grateful.”




The 2016 recipients were selected from a pool of 80 nominations. The 2016 class includes nine LEAD Scholars, 12 President’s Leadership Council members, five SGA leaders, 10 Burnett Honors College students, six Greek members, and one current and one former student-athlete.

The winners will be honored at a ceremony this spring.

The names and a picture of the inductees will be added to the wall showcasing past and present Order of Pegasus recipients in the Pegasus Lounge located on the second floor of the Student Union. Inductees also receive commemorative medals, scholarships from SGA and lifetime memberships to the UCF Alumni Association.

For a full list of all 20 students selected, click here.

Comments are closed.